What Does it Cost?

Consider this From  Matt. 8:

Now when Jesus saw a large crowd around him, he gave orders to go to the other side of the lake.

Then an expert in the law came to him and said, “Teacher, I will follow you wherever you go.”

Jesus said to him, “Foxes have dens, and the birds in the sky have nests, but the Son of Man has no place to lay his head.”

Another of the disciples said to him, “Lord, let me first go and bury my father.”

But Jesus said to him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.”

What is our immediate response to this passage?  Do we immediately look at the mental image of Jesus in a flowing robe, maybe with open toed sandals, standing in the dirt, the sun burning down on him, a few mud huts nearby, and so detach this passage from anything pertaining to our own life and our current situations?  I would have to honestly say this is my normal immediate response to this passage and others like it.  But I can’t do this anymore.  Somehow, I have to let these words, and this concept (“whatever the cost”) translate into my own world, my own situation, and go straight to my heart (and to my hands and feet as well).  How much does following Jesus really cost?  And have I paid the price yet?  Or have I kept trying to find the escape clause?

